Hanoi Flag Tower
Ha Noi Flag Tower, also called Cot Co, is one of the rare architectural works in Ha Noi that was fortunate enough to not be destroyed by the French administration between 1894 and 1897. Hanoi Flag Tower is situated on Dien Bien Phu Street, Ba Dinh District, Ha Noi; near Ba Dinh Square.
Ha Noi Flag Tower was used by French troops as an observation tower and communication station between command headquarters and adjacent military posts.
Ha Noi Flag Tower was built in 1812 and is composed of three platforms and a tower. The words Nghenh Huc, meaning "to welcome dawn's sunlight," are inscribed on the eastern door. The western door bears the two words Hoi Quang, meaning "to reflect light," and the southern door, Huong Minh, meaning "directed to the sunlight."
The tower receives sunlight through 36 flower-shaped and six fan-shaped windows.
Need more information? Contact us